jump to navigation

Little Gifts: Purple Topaz, Crofter’s Cowl, Nuptial Hats October 21, 2009

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Meanwhile,  a number of life events in my friends’ lives in August and September warranted an assortment of handknits.

~~~~~~~~~~

Evangeline was actually born in June (on her mother’s birthday!), but what with wedding and move, I didn’t have time to knit this up until late August:

Topaz dress blocking

Pattern: Topaz, by Yumiko Sakurai

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash

Needles: #9

Ravlink: Evangeline’s Topaz

New skill learned: Stranded colorwork!  All these years, all the things I’ve made, and I’ve been avoiding this one with trepidation.  It’s, um, not that hard, as it turns out.  (Especially in an easy, 2-color design on a tiny garment.)  My imperfections were nothing a good blocking couldn’t correct.

So why is my one glaring error on the idiotically simple shoulder straps?

~~~~~~~~~~

For a friend and co-worker who’s carrying a lot of weight at work and deserves more than a bit of pretty wool:

Pattern: Crofter’s Cowl [ravelry download], by Gudrun Johnston

Yarn: Malabrigo, in “deja vu”

Needles: #7, maybe?

Ravlink: Cowl for Anne

Lovely pattern.  I did not bother to do it in two pieces so that the lace pattern is grafted together in mirror image – I think it looks fine knitted all at one go this way.

I love this yarn.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

For someone in my knitting group who got married last month…a pair of not-quite-matching matrimonial hats.

Bride’s hat:

Pattern: Foliage (again!), by Emilee Mooney

Yarn: Malabrigo, in “pearl”

Needles: #7, #5

Ravlink: Pearl Hat I

I’m becoming a Malabrigo addict.  Took my sweet time getting there, but it was inevitable.  (Also, apparently, a bit of a Foliage addict – v.1 and v.2).

For the groom:

Pattern: Turn a Square [ravelry download], by Jared Flood

Yarn: Malabrigo, in “pearl” and some kind of blue

Needles: #7, #5

Ravlink: Pearl Hat II

This pattern is simple, obviously, but perfect.  No pointy-headed elf syndrome!  Now Mr. Merp wants one.

Here, my first attempt at jogless joins.  Jogs not quite invisible, but certainly less:

Comments»

1. Emilee - October 21, 2009

That cowl is in such a gorgeous colorway!

merp - October 22, 2009

Thanks, Emilee! And your foliage pattern really holds up – I just keep making them!

2. Post-Holiday Reveals, Second Wave « merp - January 9, 2010

[…] Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash (leftover from Topaz baby dress) […]

3. Third Wave of Holiday Gifts: The Kids! « merp - January 18, 2010

[…] skillz: Stranded colorwork!  Ok, I have tried it once before, but it’s still new, and I still kind of suck at it.  Fortunately, hats are forgiving and […]


Leave a Reply

