jump to navigation

Gathered Up May 13, 2009

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Pattern: Gathered Pullover, by Hana Jason (Interweave Knits, Winter 2007)

Yarn: Mister Joe Blanket (single ply, 50% Wool/ 46% Acrylic/ 3% Nylon/ 1% Elastane, discontinued)

Size: Smallest, but cast on at hem 2″ bigger than written, then decreased. Also, made the sleeves from the next size up (see below for trauma and avoidance).

Feeling: Delight!

Time to finish: Just about exactly 1 year.  Not continuous.  It probably only took 6 weeks of actual knitting, if that.

Time between finishing and blogging: Nearly 3 weeks. I’ve barely had time to breathe the last couple months. (Knitting, of course, is on par with breathing; thus, I have been knitting.)

Times worn before it got too warm: Twice, I think? 

It’s all about the cable, of course. Which was much, much easier than it looks.

The other distinguishing feature is the use of a lighter yarn at a larger gauge, making a loose, light fabric. The yarn I chose is very stretchy, to boot. Very comfortable, a perfect fall sweater.

Other than that, it’s pleasingly basic.

So what took me so long?

The sleeves. One can hardly imagine simpler sleeves, if knit to the size written. But since my bust and arm sizes are mismatched, I just (tra-la) knitted the sleeves for the next size up. Once I got to the armpit of the first sleeve I realized that the sleeve cap for one size was not going to fit into the armhole of a different size. (Obviously.) So, naturally, I shoved it in a basket and tried not to think about it for about 9 mos.

In February, I summoned resolve-face and sat myself down with an article from Interweave Knits on calculating sleeve cap sizes (from the very same issue as the pattern it so happens) and a pencil. I did math!

It didn’t really get me anywhere, though. In the end, I used a tape measure and guesstimated, then seamed them up very carefully. I’m kind of shocked at how perfectly it worked out.

My current project:

My wedding shawl. Incredibly, I’ve found shoes to match!

Comments»

1. Emilee - May 14, 2009

Very cute!

2. Curly Sue - May 14, 2009

Ooh, I love shawls. And the sweater is lovely. I love that cabling.

3. peacockchic - May 14, 2009

The shawl is lovely and so perfectly matched with the shoes! love it. The gathered pullover looks ubercomfy too!

4. amanda - May 15, 2009

wow, those shoes match perfectly!!
The pullover is great. This is such a great pattern – simple but a punch of detail!

5. vml - February 18, 2010

tell me more about this “bust and arms mismatched” situation…
as i’ve told you recently, i am having an increasingly hard time wearing shirts. i am considering giving up on sleeves all together and just going with tank tops and capes for the rest of my life.
not talking about knitting, obviously, but have you figured out any way to deal with this in your shopping?


Leave a Reply

