jump to navigation

A Shapely Winter Pullover March 9, 2009

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

(I haven’t forgotten about my furmiliation project – I’ve even made some horns! – but life has been layering on the intensity lately on all fronts. At least I’m finally getting around to posting this project – two weeks late.)

alexandra-2

Pattern: Alexandra Ballerina Top, from Fitted Knits, by Stefanie Japel

Yarn: Rowan RYC Soft Tweed (56% wool, 20% rayon, 14% nylon, 10% silk), in “bark”
Needles: #10.5
Time to finish: Less than 5 weeks (which is fast for me) 
Motivation: You would not believe how cold it was in January.  I was down to wearing one or two heavy sweaters in rotation.  So I cast on the heaviest yarn I had in my stash.  
Feeling: Love

alexandra-cable

Love the Soft Tweed – soft, drapey, warm, easy to knit, interesting to look at.  And love simple elegance of the signature cable of this sweater.

alexandra-sleeve

Especially love the cable detail on the sleeves.  Which, inexplicably, is not shown in the photos in the book.  

I made only a very few modifications:  I lengthened the sleeves to full-length (they are only wrist-length in the pattern, which I think looks awkward, though that would have kept them out of my food better).   Or rather, I did not shorten them for my short arms, and they came out just where I wanted them.

I changed the neckline slightly to be not as wide and boatnecky and a little deeper – partly so it wouldn’t slide off my shoulders (you can see I couldn’t have made it much wider), partly because I like the shape of a slightly deeper neckline, partly to give more room for my non-dainty upper arms in the spacing of the raglan increases.

alexandra-back

And of course I tailored the shaping to my own shape.  The design here is quite simple and elegant, too – no shaping on the front, relying on the cables to pull it in; only a pair of decreases and increases on the back.  

alexandra-backdarts

But, following the example of a couple of knitters on ravelry, I started the decreases some distance apart and moved them in towards each other and then moved the increases outwards, to make an hourglass shape instead of pairing them in a straight line down the back.  Love the result.  I’m pretty sure I added extra increases on the sides as well, but that’s just me and my particular pearish needs. 

alexandra-hem

I also changed all the garter stitch at the neckline, cuffs and hem to seed stitch.  I do love a seed stitch hem.  In the pattern, the background for the cables was also garter stitch, but I thought that would make it too busy, and also tend to pull up the front (since garter stitch has a smaller row gauge than stockinette), so I switched it to reverse stockinette.  Very happy with that choice, too. 

This is by far the best fitting sweater I have made so far.  And I’m trying to get as much wear as I can out of it before it gets too warm – we’ve already hit 70 degrees once or twice!

Meanwhile, I’ve return to the stalled Gathered Pullover.  And there’s been some sock action, as well.

Comments»

1. Curly Sue - March 10, 2009

Very beautiful. I love that color, and it fits you perfectly.

2. amanda - March 10, 2009

Looks wonderful! I especially like the sleeve detail and slight flare to them. Nice!!

3. Mom - March 10, 2009

Beautiful! I love the sleeves, too.

4. Amy - March 10, 2009

I really like your shaping on the back – it looks great on you. I’ve made a couple of Stefanie’s fitted knits and have found that a bit of customization in the right places makes such a difference.

Nice to have good pics of the cable detail as well! It’s lovely.

5. Emilee - March 12, 2009

I love the shaping. It looks perfect on you.

6. Mickey - March 21, 2009

Beautiful shaping! I’ll have to re-read that part (and ask you for directions to the Rav thread) when I get around to my next top.

7. meanlouise.com » Blog Archive » Alexandra Ballerina Top - March 23, 2009

[…] giving me fits yesterday and some of you asked for photos. Not really much to photograph yet, but here’s a link to post by Tanya about a completed ballet top, complete with great pictures. I hope mine comes out that half that […]


Leave a Reply

