jump to navigation

Man Hat, Goat Mitt February 7, 2009

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting, Pisco!.
trackback

…or, Success Through Randomness.

Mr. Merp’s alpaca hat purchased in Peru 5 years ago has a hole in it now. I could mend it.  But instead, I made him a new one:

wool hat in herringbone rib stitch-1

Pattern: Hah. (It’s a somewhat delusional interpretation of stitch #20, Herringbone Rib, in the Vogue Stitchionary Vol. I: Knit & Purl)

Yarn: Leftover Beaverslide mulespun worsted

Needles: #7, circular and dpn

Time to finish: a few days, off and on.

Happiness quotient: Reasonable.

Randomness: Extreme. Sure, it looks ok in the photo above – clearly we have a pattern of 3 twisted ribs between each herringbone section….or two:

wool hat in herringbone rib stitch-2

or six:

wool hat in herringbone rib stitch-3

I wasn’t what you would call thinking.

Meanwhile, these are in progress:

top-down cabled raglan alexandra by stephanie japel

Alexandra Ballerina something from Stephanie Japel’s Fitted Knits.  I’m nearly done with the body now and will probably start the sleeves tomorrow.

and

 fingerless mitt with goat cable

Goat Mitt!

According to ravelry (though I doubt it’s really true), I am the first to put Cyn’s brilliant goat cable to practical use.  I made it up as I went along, but did write it down, so I should be able to knit Mitt #2 to match, coming soon. But I’m already wearing Mitt #1 because it’s been so cold around here.

Until today.  It shot up 45 degrees yesterday and I am now going outdoors in a light sweater, instead of wearing three layers of wool indoors, as I was just Thursday.  Freaky.

Comments»

1. wildtomato - February 7, 2009

I love how Pisco is in the window looking out at you as you take a picture of the hat.

2. Curly Sue - February 8, 2009

Ha! I didn’t see PIsco standing there. That’s a really funny picture.

3. v - February 9, 2009

your mitts are very pretty.
SJP has some shoes to match them: http://gawker.com/5149822/every-time-this-thing-breaks-down-i-have-to-get-out-and-pull


Leave a Reply

