jump to navigation

Blogiversary! 新年快樂! Prizes! Furmiliation! January 25, 2009

Posted by merp in Animules, Blogging, Crafts, Life.
trackback

新年快樂 … Xin Nian Kuai Le … Happy Chinese-Korean-etc. New Year!

In just a few days, it is also my blogiversary.  I started this blog three years ago on January 29, 2006, and for the first time, I’m giving it a birthday party.

In honor of the occasion, and to thank you all for reading merp, I’m holding a contest!  Or rather, a drawing.

noro-earrings

Just comment on this post and tell me your Chinese zodiac sign (just the animal for your birth year, not your “inner animal” and your “secret animal” – though you can post those if you want!), and I’ll randomly select a winner, who’ll receive this skein of Noro Cash Iroha (40% silk, 30% lamb’s wool, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon) in an indescribably beautiful shade of blue-violet.*  

noro

Furthermore, if you were born in the year of the Ox, then it’s your year!  You’ll get this pair of beaded earrings I made some time ago (first ox, first served):

earrings 

(If you don’t wear earrings, we’ll talk.)  

Yes, one person can win both, and yes, I’ll ship overseas.

Also, as a special treat for you all, Pisco and/or the cats will dress up or otherwise impersonate oxen and the winning zodiacal animal in a future post!  They can’t wait.  

I’ll choose the winner(s) Saturday night, January 31.  Let the commenting begin!

*As much as I wish I could say otherwise, I cannot guarantee that this yarn is allergen free.  There’s no visible pet hair at least!  

Comments»

1. Jenny - January 26, 2009

Hi Tanya,

新年快樂 and congratulations on the anniversary of your blog!

I didn’t know that you made jewelry too. Is there anything you don’t do?! I’m amazed at how you find the time to do so much when you’re already so busy with work and writing.

Anyway, just wanted to tell you that I started knitting again…and am working on my first hat for my husband. When I get better I’ll be sure to come back for some inspiration!

Oh, by the way, I’m a Rat…missed being an Ox by just a few days. Which sign are you?

2. Aim - January 26, 2009

Happy Blogiversary! I’m a tiger, yeah! Thanks for the gramma slippers pattern (found via rav), I might make a pair…my gramma did the same thing, always had a box of slippers and mittens to pick from when we visited! That rocked ;0)

3. Curly Sue - January 26, 2009

Happy blogiversary from me too. Three years is a good total…you’ve got all kinds of photos on here that I love.

Well, I have to ring in with the serpent…the very best of all, of course. I remember we studied the Chinese zodiac in Spanish class as a way to learn animals *and* personality vocab at the same time. I thought it was pretty weird. I was also the only serpent in class because everyone else was *way* younger than I was.

4. ellen - January 26, 2009

I’m a Ram.

5. Stacy - January 26, 2009

Happy blogiversary! If I win, the cats have to be disqualified from dressing up as my Chinese zodiac sign, a roaring tiger. My pushy tiger self demands that Pisco be the one to dress up if I win or if another tiger wins. 😉

Great blog, BTW. I’ve been a lurker for quite some time.

Gung Hay Fat Choy!

6. Jenny - January 26, 2009

Happy blogiversary! This is my first time to your blog. I saw the link from Ravelry. I’m scrapnstitch there.
I love those slippers you made for your nephew! How unique.
I’m a rooster myself. That will make an interesting furmilation. 🙂

7. ananamoose - January 27, 2009

I am a Tiger…and my Chinese element is Fire. And I’m an Aquarius. I don’t follow my zodiac regularly, but I think I fit them pretty well.

8. Georg - January 27, 2009

Happy New Year and Blogoversary!

I am a monkey. My friends are not surprised. I am thegeorg on Ravelry.

9. kantz - January 28, 2009

Happy blogoversary, merp! I can’t wait to see Pisco and the cats impersonate other animals. I’m a Ram!

10. Mickey - January 30, 2009

Dragon! The yarn, I wants it, precious!

11. Cat - January 30, 2009

Happy Blogiversary!

I am a Rooster. I’m sewinggoddess on Rav ^__^

12. Rippedoffknitter - January 31, 2009

Congrats on your blogiversary! This Monkey is looking forward to keep reading the blog in the years to come!


Leave a Reply

