jump to navigation

Hats that bust stash January 5, 2009

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

I’m back!  And it’s 2009 and all that.  Before we launch into the year ahead – before we even launch into holiday projects, or a year-end wrap up – let’s catch up on last summer, shall we?

Pattern: Banana Republic Hat Knockoff by metaphysical muse

Yarn: Mondial Kross, ocean blue, 1 ball

Time to complete: less than 2 days

I whipped this up in July while trying to write, using up the rest of the yarn from this scarf.  It’s simple, but I love it.  The perfect, all-purpose hat.  

It sat untouched for months as I cast about for the right button.  Then it got cold and I grabbed the button at hand (Win Stracke, founder of the Old Town School, on the occasion of his [posthumous] centennial).  I guess he’s sorta cute….

A couple of weeks later, I made this for a friend, more or less on a whim: 

…though I forgot to give it to her till November.  Or was it already December?

Pattern: Foliage (worsted weight version) by Emilee Mooney

Yarn: Elann Superwash Bamboo, silver birch, much less than 1 skein

Time to complete: less than 2 days

Love this pattern – easy, interesting, unbelievably fast.  I should make dozens.

In the fall, I made myself a slouchy one with some leftover from the anniversary afghan:

Pattern: Foliage (worsted weight version, using bulky yarn = slouch.  Decreased by about 33% before the ribbing to bring it in)

Yarn: Knit Picks Swish Bulky, brindle heather, 1 skein (or less?)

Time to complete: less than 2 days in a hotel room in Houston

I had been sadly and confusingly without any good hats before this.  It was inexcusable.  Now I’ll make it through the winter.

Comments»

1. Little Gifts: Purple Topaz, Crofter’s Cowl, Nuptial Hats « merp - October 21, 2009

[…] I’m becoming a Malabrigo addict.  Took my sweet time getting there, but it was inevitable.  (Also, apparently, a bit of a Foliage addict – v.1 and v.2). […]


Leave a Reply

