jump to navigation

Aleita November 29, 2008

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

aleita2_merp  

Pattern: Aleita Shell by Bonne Marie Burns, Interweave Knits, Spring 2008 (ravelry link)

Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Linen Isle (50% Cotton, 30% Rayon, 20% Linen), in a sort of a rose-grey, 5 skeins

Needles: #6

Size: The smallest size, roughly, with other sizes thrown in

Time to knit:  2 months, almost to the day, as a side project

aleita3_merp  

I made a few subtle changes to the pattern.  In addition to casting on more at the hem, as always, to accommodate my pearishness, I also left a little slit in the hem for a little more ease.  

And I continued two ribs all the way up the sides, mainly for the look (I thought the plain tube of stockinette was a little two plain), but also, I hoped for a little more hug for the waist – don’t think that happened.  

The crossover bit in the front is very nicely designed – it’s all one piece – but terribly written.  I had to ditch the pattern and logic it out.  Fortunately, it was pretty logical.  

Be warned: the armholes are designed for someone with teeny, tiny little arms.  I split front and back several inches earlier than the pattern suggested.  This problem isn’t unusual for me, but even so, the armhole measurements seemed unrealistic.  

I also had to add several more inches (at least 4) to the total length after dividing, which seemed very odd, as that’s not something I usually need to do.  And, I think I didn’t quite do it right – somehow it’s shorter in front than in back – maybe because I added too much length in the back??

I liked the yarn, very pleasant to knit with – the rayon adds a silkiness.  But I forgot that it wouldn’t be as stretchily forgiving as wool and left some unevenness in my stitches which has yet to work its way out.  Oh well.

aleita4_merp

I figured I had to wear the brown silk shirt, you know, for authenticity, but actually, I don’t think it’s the best look for this.  Will probably go better with grey.  And with something more fitted.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

