jump to navigation

For a baby girl… September 22, 2008

Posted by merp in Knitting, Life.
trackback

I’ve got a new niece!

And this is for her.

Pattern: Grow With Me, Knitty Summer 2007

Yarn: Pakucho Organic Cotton (colors natural and chocolate) – machine washable and dryable, of course

Time to finish: about a month, stretched out over two

The concept here is a great one: a garment that’s a dress for a baby, but gradually converts to a tank top, letting out the shoulder ties, as the child grows. It ought to fit for about 2 years.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t thrilled with the pattern. A lot of instructions were missing – for example, though there were clear instructions on how to do the smocking, the bodice pattern (how to knit the stripes that you later smock) was completely missing. Also, the pattern had you knitting two pieces flat and sewing up seams, which seemed quite unnecessary for such a simple dress; I knit it in the round to the armpits. Also, I was disappointed in the edge of the smocked top – I did what I could, adding a slip-stitch border – but I think it really needed more finishing.

It wasn’t really that hard to figure out, and I made several corrections and changes as I went along, too (no longer sure exactly what all of them were), but honestly, I knit it from the picture for the most part and the pattern was not much help.

That said, it is an awfully cute design!

I did not have a baby handy to model. Please disregard the stake in Buffy’s hand and imagine a second eye.

(No, I do not know why Buffy has only one eye.)

Comments»

1. Curly Sue - September 23, 2008

Heh. I was wondering why you were using a cyclops doll as a model. Well, I guess that learning that it’s Buffy really doesn’t explain the cyclops after all. Hmm.

2. Curly Sue - September 23, 2008

Oh, and this isn’t T’s little sister, is it?

3. amanda - September 26, 2008

it’s adorable!

4. merp - October 19, 2008

I’ve been off the blog for a little while here – thanks for the comments! Nope, not T’s little sister, but my stepsister’s second. The gift was well received!

Now, on to the next one….


Leave a Reply

