jump to navigation

Bagelry July 6, 2008

Posted by merp in Food.
trackback

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged any of Aaron’s projects – or much of any food, really. Last Sunday he was inspired to make bagels. I helped.

We used Mark Bittman’s recipe in How to Cook Everything. Time consuming, a bit. But in a town with no real bagel access, worth every exertion.

A donut-shaped bread does not a bagel make. Boiling doth a bagel make.

(I sprinkled the onions.)

Crispy, chewy, and just-a-little-spongy goodness. We are so doing this again.

Comments»

1. Mickey - July 7, 2008

Could you email me that recipe? I live in a *country* without bagels! And Lars is an avid baker…

2. Rebecca - July 8, 2008

And they were yummy bagels- I may be inspired to craft a batch! Thank you for sharing them with us. Do try the barley malt- it was worth it in our bagels a few years ago.
-Rebecca

3. Summer Soba Salad « merp - July 13, 2008

[…] we’re making bagels again. This time, with […]

4. david - July 19, 2008

Ooooh. OOOOH. BAGELS! we are sending you an apprentice to learn this valuable craft.

5. Stacy - August 7, 2008

Oh! I have this book, and now I so have to make some bagel goodness of my very own. They look beautiful!


Leave a Reply

