jump to navigation

Where Are They Now? PNW Cardigan April 27, 2008

Posted by merp in Knitting, Where Are They Now?.
trackback

Not one of your artier photos, but it accurately depicts the life of this sweater:

I made this in the winter and spring of 2006, and hoped it would be my first wearable sweater for myself. By then, I’d knitted two sweater for myself that I didn’t like (one of them I frogged immediately), a number of baby sweaters, and a sleeveless top from Stitch’N’Bitch for my sister (successful).

This one? Eh. Yes, it’s wearable. I wear it all the time. But not usually out of the house.

The pattern: Neckdown V-Neck Shaped Cardigan. Very good, very well written and easy to follow. I still like the style – simple, yet flattering. I love the wide, seedstitch border.

I was iffy and still am about the tie – it’s just an extension of the knitting around the neckline and looks kind of frumpy – if I knit it again, I would use a ribbon or a brooch or a button or something, or even a zipper.

The only significant problem with the pattern was that the armholes are way, way too deep – and your looking at someone with substantial upper arms. But that was only a problem with the pattern because I was following it meticulously – now, of course, I know that that’s a silly thing to do with a top-down raglan. Nothing could be easier to fix.

I would definitely knit this pattern again, but with a pretty, showcase yarn, maybe something hand-dyed.

The knitting: This was the “Escher” moment when I realized that I knit funny. That is, if I knit through the front loop like a normal person (like I always had), I produce proper knit stitches in the round, but twisted knit stitches knitting flat (see photo). I now knit through the back loop when knitting flat. Brigitte at Klose Knits explained to me what was going on (and showed me how to compensate on the purl side as well), but I have to say, I don’t get it. It’s just one of those things.

This doesn’t make me dislike the sweater – I’m actually rather grateful to it for the little epiphany!

The yarn: Lion Brand Woolease. Ick, unfortunately. Nowhere near as bad as Caron Simply Soft – the wool content keeps it breathable, springy, and not too squeaky. And I certainly appreciate the machine-washability (and I eventually figured out that putting it through the dryer is not only ok, but improves it). But it started to pill and fuzz instantaneously, and after wearing it for a week or two, it looked like that old sweater you pull out of the back of your closet for sitting around at home on weekends.

Which is precisely what it has become.

Overall: B/B-

Posts on this project:

Tychus Hat and New Project

WIPs!

Mitts & Cardi

FOiled Again

Pacific Northwest Cardigan

P.S. My coronet hat was made from the same yarn and has the same problem, but I do wear it all the time anyway, just because, inexplicably, I don’t have enough hats.

Comments»

1. amanda - April 29, 2008

Too bad it’s not your favorite, but we all need sweaters like that for around the house. At least you’re wearing your knits!!


Leave a Reply

