jump to navigation

Northwest Passage January 6, 2008

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting, Life, Travel.
trackback

propeller.jpg

Journeyed to the Pacific Northwest for Christmas, as usual. And, as usual, it was gorgeous. If depressingly dark.

rainier.jpg

I was treated to these stunning views on the prop(!) plane trip from Portland to Seattle as it was getting on to sundown (i.e., about 3:30pm). That’s Mt. Rainier – the only time I got to see it in my 1.5 weeks there. You may have heard that Seattle tends to be a bit overcast.

But also warm. Seattle’s usually in the 40s in December, and a welcome break from the nose-hair-freezing temps we’d been having here in Illinois. For the first time ever, however, we went out and pursued the snow, driving up into the mountains the day after Christmas to spend a couple of days in cozy-perfect Cowlitz River Cabin. Aaron got to spend a day skiing at White Pass and the rest of us made snowpeople and snow angels at the cabin. Very exciting for my nephew especially.

cowlitz.jpg

Whom I got to see in his new stripy hemp sweater!

teyo_sweater.jpg

It was also my first chance to see my mom’s new house (featured in the NYT in September) – completion is in sight, and it looks wonderful. Also my good-bye to the old house, which I grew up in.

Good times with family, too short and far between.

Comments»

1. peacockchic - January 6, 2008

hee hee..I thought you were joking when you said Seattle was warm. Then I realized you live in Illinois and it took my breathe away. Since I live in so. California, 40 would be just as broadcast newsworthy as the light rain which triggered a storm watch report every hour. Glad you are having fun in the…ahem…warm weather :O)

2. Leah - January 7, 2008

That’s a great photo of him in the hemp sweater. I like the bags that you made too. You’re getting to be such a professional!

3. amanda - January 9, 2008

What a picturesque holiday! That snowy scene is the perfect holiday destination.

4. It’s eating your bra-a-ain! « merp - July 14, 2008

[…] can also see there the mittens I whipped up of a morning, without a pattern, at the cabin because there was a need, and I had the yarn. I’m rather pleased with […]


Leave a Reply

