jump to navigation

Seattle and Singapore Market Bags January 3, 2008

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting, Life.
trackback

Just back from Christmas and New Years in Seattle. More on that in a bit. To start us off, the first of several gifts I gave, now sharable with you!

The Seattle Market Bag:

marketbag1.jpg

I made this back in July for my mom; she finally got it in her stocking last week. She’s about to move from the Seattle suburbs almost into the city (more about her amazing new house later), so this is to celebrate her new, more walkable lifestyle.

Pattern: Saturday Market Bag*, with mods inspired by disdressed.
Yarn: Tahki Chat Print (2.5 skeins)
Needles: #13 for bag; #10 for base, top, and handles

In action:

marketbag2.jpg

Mods:

Like Liesl, I divided the bag to have 2 handles, and made it a smaller bag (I probably cast on 35, as she did). As you can see, it’s quite large enough.

I also added a base by knitting a rectangle in garter stitch first, then continuing on up one side of the bag. I knit the two sides separately, as in the original pattern, and then seamed up the sides and around the remaining 3 sides of the base. I thought the seams might help give it strength and structure, but it was really just a pain. The base was a good idea, though. I did the handles in seed stitch instead of garter stitch.

The Singapore Market Bag:

singaporebag1.jpg

Aaron’s mom has already made a big move – his parents and youngest brother moved to Singapore last summer. So she got a new lifestyle bag, too.

Pattern: Saturday Market Bag, with different mods.
Yarn: Tahki Chat Print (2.5 skeins)
Needles: #10 for bag; #8 for base, top, and handles – I think? – and for that reason a tad smaller than the first.

singaporebag4.jpg

For this one, I knitted a sturdier base in linen stitch. Then I cast on a bunch more stitches, enough for all sides of the bag, so as to knit it in one flat piece and do away with one seam. Somehow I did the handles differently and I like the ones on the first bag better, but the linen stitch bottom should work well.

It doesn’t look very big, but it holds a LOT!

singaporebag2.jpg

They were well received. Now I’d make one for myself, but I’m kind of tired of them!

*Pattern now available here or on ravelry.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

