jump to navigation

Fall Is Allegedly Here October 9, 2007

Posted by merp in FOs, Gardening, Knitting, Life, Pisco!.
trackback

Temperatures in the high 80s with commensurate humidity notwithstanding, we are told that it is now fall. My sweaters languish in the bottom drawer. I believe I have worn a jacket less than five times so far this year, and never all day. My peppers are still ripening on the vine (the habaneros are done, but anchos and mulatto islenos are still coming in).

I have nonetheless completed another piece of my winter arsenal, in blind faith that it will come in handy.

toeupsock2.jpg

Pattern: On Your Toes Socks, IK Summer ’07. (I used the version written out like a pattern for these my first toe-up socks, but it’s really just an infinitely modifiable formula.)

Yarn: Knitpicks Memories, 100% merino (not superwash), color Redwood (bought on clearance, and it seems to no longer be available). Used only about 1.25 skeins.

Needles: #2 dpns

This was an easy, mindless project, as it’s just a simple, ribbed sock. I enjoyed learning the Eastern(?) cast-on for the toes – makes a very neat appearance, with no uncomfortable seam. Not sure I like a short-row heel – or maybe I just can’t do short rows (note the holes).

* Just noticed that I ended up only posting photos of the right sock. I did, in fact, knit a left sock as well.

toeupsock1.jpg

I made a couple of minor modifications:

I added a couple of extra ribs to hug the arch more. Probably not necessary, but I thought they’d be extra comfy.

I added some very gradual increases – 2 st at the widest point on my foot (just before the ankle) and 2 st as my calves started to do their massive widening thing.

To break up the monotony, I added a little mock cable at the top. Also helped disguise the fact that my increases disturbed the 2 x 2 ribbing pattern.

toeupsock3.jpg

There was one casualty:

sockneedlebroke.jpg

Now, will I find the reality of handwash-only socks so preposterous that I never wear them?

Comments»

1. amanda - October 10, 2007

I still have peppers and tomatoes ripening as well. Isn’t it October? Anyway, supposedly fall will be arriving here in the form of a cold front tomorrow (let’s hope)!

2. Fall is Truly Here « merp - November 3, 2007

[…] got off to a slow start, but finally it’s sweater-wearing time. (This is the neighbor’s tree. It’s […]

3. Jeannie in Korea (for now) - November 9, 2007

hee hee.. great cat photo.. one of those ‘if looks could kill’.. 😀

4. Catsploitation « merp - July 6, 2008

[…] to complete: 2-3 days, while knitting those socks last […]

5. On Socks « merp - December 5, 2009

[…] #2, On-your-toes-socks by Ann Budd, was an anomalous success.  Knitted toe-up, I found I could expand the girth with […]


Leave a Reply

