jump to navigation

Sahara! September 8, 2007

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

I have actually completed a sweater while it’s still seasonal!

(In fact, I wore it on Thursday and was a bit over-warm.)

sahara_front.jpg

Pattern: Sahara, by Wendy Bernard

Yarn: Goshen (48% cotton, 46% modal, 6% silk), in periwinkle

Needles: #7 circs, Addi Turbos (woh – look at that, I remembered! Well, Addi Turbos are memorable needles, it turns out) – and probably #5 circs for the lace and ribbing at the hem.

sahara_back.jpg

Modifications:

  • Did not use the recommended yarn, of course (being stratospherically expensive), but Goshen did not require any mods to the pattern and worked wonderfully. I really love this (very affordable!) yarn – I hope it wears well.
  • Changed the shaping quite a bit, of course, as one must, unless one happens to be exactly average shaped. Worked out fine, no difficulties.
  • Made it a little long – at least, longer than most other knitters’ results. Not sure if I did this on purpose or not. I like it long, but kind of wish the hemline did not fall precisely where I am widest. Oh, well.
  • Didn’t bother with beads or sequins. Not interested.
  • My biggest change was the lace, as I discussed earlier, with much helpful input from readers and on craftster. I ended up using #78: Tiny Eyelet Ribbing from the Vogue Stitchionary Vol. 1 (Knit & Purl), and like it so much better than the kinda poofy diamond lace in the pattern.
  • Left the lace off of the hem entirely and used a bit of simple ribbing instead.

sahara_lace.jpg

(Sorry if this photo is a little personal – I just wanted to show you the lace detail :))

sahara_side.jpg

It’s very comfy. Carefully fitted, but not body-hugging, breathes nicely.

And it’s a beautiful pattern – so easy to read, so easy to knit. I’m tempted to make another one…long-sleeved, in a wool-silk blend….

Comments»

1. missknittykitty - September 8, 2007

It’s beautiful! I’m a bad knitter and haven’t tried mine on yet…*blush*

2. much-adored - September 8, 2007

That is gorgeous! The shaping is so flattering on you. I might have to add this sweater to my queue. Lovely!

3. Mickey - September 9, 2007

Ooh, pretty! That’s quite lovely, and I may just have to do one myself, too. No worries on making it longer; you’re long-torsoed, so it would have looked too short if you hadn’t.

As a boobiesexual, I never mind close-ups of knitting-on-racks. 😉

4. Nubiancraftster - September 9, 2007

gorgeous! Love the color and the lace

5. v - September 12, 2007

pretttty!


Leave a Reply

