jump to navigation

God’s Gift to Yarn August 19, 2007

Posted by merp in Knitting, Life.
trackback

The goal was to carefully untie a very neat skein of allhemp and arrange it to feed into my shiny new ball winder. Within, oh, 2 or 3 mintues, I had achieved this:

bigmess.jpg

I think that suggests extraordinary talent.

45 minutes of meticulous and obsessive untangling later, I had it in a hand-wound ball, from which I was able to machine wind a neat – if a bit too loose – center-pull ball (left). I did much better with the Cascade 220 wool (right).

The ball winder was a vintage item from ebay, clearly never used, works great!

woolwinder.jpg

Sadly, this used up the bulk of my energy for the day. Mono: I don’t recommend it.

Comments»

1. Mom - August 20, 2007

Considering your very limited energy these days (weeks), I’m impressed that you were able to carry this frustrating task through to completion!

The new booties are too utterly cute!

2. Stripey Hemp! « merp - December 16, 2007

[…] Stripey Hemp! December 16, 2007 Posted by merp in Knitting. trackback Remember the hemp? […]


Leave a Reply

