jump to navigation

Cutie-feet, Franken-feet August 17, 2007

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Cuties first, of course:

booties_1.jpg

So adorable they almost don’t need a baby. But a baby they shall have – she’s due to arrive any day now.

Pattern: Saartje’s Booties, from Saartje Knits – it was Jared‘s that inspired me.

Yarn: Knitpicks Shine Sport in Apricot & Cherry

Modifications: Because Shine Sport is slightly thicker than the yarn called for, my gauge was a little off and I ended up doing one less increase (and therefore one less decrease).

I only made one strap buttonable – I forget why, but there was a reason. And since I had no idea how big a baby’s feet might be, and no baby handy, I got nervous and decided to make adjustable straps. As you can see, there are two buttonholes for each button, fat ankle position on the left, newborn skinny ankle on the right. At least, I hope that’s how it works out!

booties_two.jpg booties_3.jpg

(The blue you see is just the yarn I stuffed them with for the photo.)

And remember Frankenstein? Well I completed his bride:

uglysox_1.jpg

She is, of course, far lovelier. Relatively speaking. This time I took into account the narrowness of the pattern and so instead of adding in an awkward skin-graft of an insert after knitting, I did these weird increases after turning the heel (which is the first thing you do), decreased before turning the toe, increased again after the toe and then fudged it all to make it come out right (needless to say, I did not manage to make my increases all the same size).

uglysox_2.jpg

And then did a somewhat more conventional increase in-pattern up the ankle. And I didn’t flub up the provisional cast-on at all this time.

uglysox_3.jpg

They do fit perfectly. (I hope you appreciate that I modeled this on a day with a heat index of 100+ degrees. All for you, dear readers, all for you.)

Pattern: Knitty’s Sox on 2 Stix

Yarn: Cleckheaton Country Silk bought at my LYS – a rarity for me, but should become more common – Klose Knit

All very well, this pattern (yes, it works, yes it’s clever), but really, I’m fine with socks in the round on dpns. Got some Knitpicks sock yarn on its way as I write….

Comments»

1. knittingnoob - August 17, 2007

The booties are very cute! I was thinking about making a pair of these, did you find the pattern easy to follow?

2. merp - August 18, 2007

Thanks! Yes, very easy. Although I think there was a stitch miscount in there. Once you get the basic principle, it’s very easy to correct or modify – just don’t take the stitch counts on faith.

3. Leah - August 19, 2007

Well, well. Knitting in the summer…that’s dedication, Tanya.

I pasted your coffee quiz on my little site ’cause it’s pretty funny. I got 67%.

I’ll email you with a better update. Just wanted to let you know I’m still checking your blog.

4. On Socks « merp - December 5, 2009

[…] believe my first attempt at socks were the Frankensocks.  Perhaps I thought these would be easier, with their unconventional construction.  ,The pattern […]


Leave a Reply

