jump to navigation

Sahara Stalled August 4, 2007

Posted by merp in Knitting.
trackback

sahara_body.jpg

Here it is so far! The body is done, and satisfactory. Fitted, but not tight.

I’m stumped with the lace, though. There was supposed to be an inch or two along the bottom hem, which I executed at least twice, I think – but it came out looking frilly, and I do not need frills around my hips. It seems that the lace will not lie flat if I use the same yarn as the rest of the sweater, even using smaller needles. So I’ve put in a plea for help at the craftster knitalong. Not quite sure what the best solution is. (Here’s what it’s supposed to look like.)

Comments»

1. lia - August 5, 2007

I had the same trouble. I think that I went down to a smaller needle size and did 2×2 ribbing… I LOVE it though – I made it in 100% wool, and can’t wear it that much though. I am planning on another in something more suitable!

2. Mickey - August 5, 2007

No clue what to tell you, but the common ground t-shirt is way cute! What are the o’s made out of?

3. rippedoffknitter - August 5, 2007

To answer the question you asked on my blog, I haven´t done anything. I got frustrated cause I didn´t really love any of my yarn options, and I can´t find a thinner yarn in the same colour. My Sahara has been stashed away in a plastic bag under my sofa for weeks. I may frog it and buy the original yarn…next summer. The frustration has lead to the finishing of lots of other UFOs while thinking though, so I guess that is a good thing 😉

4. merp - August 6, 2007

Sorry to hear that! Have you considered a contrasting color, like white or off-white? I think I will probably just go for it with the original yarn at this point and hope for the best…..

5. Michelle - August 6, 2007

I think it will lay flatter once you block it too. I can’t remember it min ewas fluffed out or not….. Love the color you are using!

6. Michelle - August 6, 2007

Also your email bounced back to me so here’s what I wrote:

I love my Sahara, and the goshen was great! I know I had trouble with the purl 3 together through the back loop thing so I just did it purl 3 toghether. I didn’t switch the yarn for the lace. I think it did lay down a little better too after I blocked it. I do wear it..though lately it’s been too hot! Good luck!I love my Sahara, and the goshen was great! I know I had trouble with the purl 3 together through the back loop thing so I just did it purl 3 toghether. I didn’t switch the yarn for the lace. I think it did lay down a little better too after I blocked it. I do wear it..though lately it’s been too hot! Good luck!

7. Sahara! « merp - July 14, 2008

[…] biggest change was the lace, as I discussed earlier, with much helpful input from readers and on craftster. I ended up using #78: Tiny Eyelet Ribbing […]


Leave a Reply

