jump to navigation

Red, blue and donuts July 4, 2007

Posted by merp in Food, Knitting.
trackback

Still no Rusted Root – it’s drying. Meanwhile, my next sweater project: Sahara.

saharah_1.jpg

So, so easy, just like everyone’s said. I’m loving the yarn, too: Valley Yarns Goshen in periwinkle.

And because the last picture of Clementine was so crappy, here’s a better one. This is probably about as long as the first half needs to be. Then a second half (but the thrill is gone, so could be months), and finally the very much non-brainless part of the project: grafting the two halves together. The yarn is Valley Yarns Deerfield in burgundy – the color in the June 29 picture is closer.

clementine_2.jpg

And, finally, donuts.

donuts.jpg

I made these this morning with the Donut Factory donut maker I bought at a yard sale last year. The Donut Factory donut maker I will be selling at our yard sale this weekend, God willing. I have fond memories of the thing from childhood, but that’s because I didn’t have to make them. Now I understand – deeply – why my mom just didn’t think donut Sundays were all that fun.

The Dazey Donut Factory was a thing of the ’70s – at least, that’s when it came into our home. An appliance in the waffle iron family, it has two donut-shaped, teflon-lined molds, into which you pour the batter. You close the lid, pour just a 1/2 tsp of oil into 2 wells in the top, and then the oil seeps down through little holes to “fry” the donut (hence, much healthier than real donuts – but that’s not saying much – we had gazpacho for supper to counterbalance). It makes a tasty donut (cakey, but fluffier than the cake donuts you get at the bakery).

But the donuts fall apart if your batter isn’t right (trick: add more flour to the chocolate donut recipe, and in all cases beat the batter a lot to get it good and gluteny) and because there’s no timer on the machine, it’s your best guess when their done. The extra-dark above is, sadly, not dark chocolate, but extra carbon crunch. It seems to take something like 10-15 minutes for each pair of donuts.

That adds up to a long time. I mowed the lawn and did my laundry while making these donuts.

Those of you who have ended up here by Googling “Dazey Donut Factory” probably just want the recipes. They can be found here or here. Make a batch to say you did, then sell the thing at your next yard sale.

The recipes I used, btw, are the same ones we always, always had in my family: one recipe of chocolate and one recipe of peanut butter, yinned and yanged together in the donut maker. That, of course, is the reason to make them yourself , because where else are you going to get swirly-stripey chocolate peanut butter donuts?

Comments»

1. amanda - July 5, 2007

Sahara’s looking good. Interesting story about the donuts!

2. v - July 5, 2007

Awwwwwwww….

I am so sad.

I saw the picture and got so excited, as all those happy Sunday morning memories flooded back. Then I read. And remembered Mom’s bitter complaining. So it’s true. So sad. I guess I’ll never have Dazey Donuts again. They were so good!!! But truly not worth the trouble; I can’t even get my act together to make muffins. At least you tried.

3. Alice - July 8, 2007

You’ve got all of the pros and cons about the donut maker right. But I’m keeping mine. Having a little grandson can make all sorts of tedious things worthwhile again. At least, I do PLAN to bring it out of the cabinet again. (Vanessa, you may join us.)

See, it was the lawnmowing and laundry that account for the extra carbon crunch. It’s OK to read the Sunday paper (lightly) while they fry/bake, but one must stay in the kitchen!

4. Clementine segments « merp - September 14, 2007

[…] finished the second one of these maybe two weeks ago. It was good mindless knitting for when I was […]

5. Pink - January 17, 2008

I can’t believe you have trouble with your donut maker. I’ve never had a batch come out less than perfect. As a kid I had the same 2 hole one as you do, but recently I found a four hole donut maker, cutting the time to make it in half. They stay together perfectly, and cook through evenly at 10 minuets, just as the book says. I like the buttermilk recipe the best myself, though I will have to try marbling it with the chocolate. I find making donuts while reading the paper one of the most relaxing (and yummy!) ways to start the morning.

6. Angeljo - June 2, 2008

Try using pancake mix doughnuts!! Just make them a little thicker and let it rise slightly before baking.

7. Manda - June 27, 2009

I just got one of these (never used!) at a yard sale today and my 10 year daughter and I made chocolate donuts from the recipe book and followed the directions (five minutes) and they came out perfect every time…. Kind of a long process, but lots of fun! We can’t wait to do it again and try another recipe.

8. Rookie - July 24, 2009

My daughter just got one that a neighbor was giving away. Now that she has the “official” recipe, I’m sure she’ll be happy. (She’s old enough to make them herself, yay!

9. vintageviewfinder - April 21, 2010

I just bought one today. Didn’t know it takes that long but I can’t wait to use it. As a wise philosopher named Homer said, “Mmmmmm…donuts”. 😉

10. Dee Q. - June 6, 2010

Thanks for the fabulous links to the recipes! I vividly remember making these with my Mom, then we’d shake them in a bag of cinnamon-sugar. YUM-0! I picked up a Dazey donut maker yesterday at a yard sale for a buck! My 8 yo daughtger, 4 yo son and I made these this morning. We made the regular recipe, then drizzled powdered sugar glaze on top. Krispy Kreme has NOTHING on these. My kids devoured them. OK, I had a few too. My hubby even said they “weren’t bad” which is a pretty high compliment! Some hints: follow the recipe exactly. Heat up the maker for 10 mins first. Add just a 1/4 tsp of oil to the bottom, pour in batter to reach the exact level top of the lower half. Work quickly! The top cools off fairly fast. After you close the lid, put 1/4 tsp of oil into each side through the holes on top. Cook for 4-5 minutes after putting in the oil. Don’t try to evenly brown the tops and bottoms – the tops don’t brown as much as the bottoms do. Enjoy while they’re still warm. They don’t take kindly to reheating.

11. Noentrobcap - July 10, 2010

I was googling dazey donut factory because I intend to buy one if I can. I live in Spain so shipping costs could be (would be) quite high…I wouldn’t mind to pay for them were I sure the gadget is great, but after reading your comment…Must I understand that it is bad? Did you try again and got better results?

12. Susan Fenton - September 1, 2010

I have never had any trouble with my donut maker. I made these in the 70s and 80s with my mother and in the 90s with my daughter. Now i am going to let my nieces try these as well. I havent made them in a long time but i remember using PAM spray on these first to avoid sticking. I never had any trouble with them.

13. Denise - September 4, 2010

Hi all,I just found me a Dazey donut maker and love it,so fast and easy and yummmmmmmy,don’t know why you all saying so long to make,in 20 mins I already have 5 pair made and Believe me so yummmmy.Well wotrth the $3.00 I spent.Happy donut making all…..

14. Noentrobcap - September 21, 2010

I found me one as well!!!! Bought it from eBay and cost me 15dollars plus…35 to send to Spain…I made two batches of donuts already….plain and chocolate…and I find the results terrific…This machine is absolutely noexistent in Spain, of course, there are just the ones that made tiny donuts…everyone who sees it is so amazed…and I love the little holes to pour the additional oil…
I also add a sugar glaze to my doughnuts always. I briefly boil sugar and water (1 part water, 2 sugar), let it cool for a while and cover the doughtnuts on their bottom side preferably (it’s turns to be the prettiest, the one that was in contact with bottom part of machine).Then sprinkle with caster sugar and glaze them again, this gives them a special texture.


Leave a Reply

