jump to navigation

Warm hands, warm feet March 12, 2007

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Tidepool hand warmers.

mitt_left.jpg

mitt_right.jpg

That’s what the colors remind me of. And where I’m from, beachwalking is a chilly activity.

mitts.jpg

It’s hard to take a picture of both your hands at once.

Actually, they’re the “Rib and Cable Mitts” from Interweave Knits (now to be edited by Eunny Jang! Go Eunny!!), Spring 2006.

Yarn: 2 skeins hand-dyed, sport-weight(?) alpaca, one in watery shades of blue, the other in blues, blue-greens and browns. I alternated two rows from each skein to blend the colors. I got the yarn in a swap and have no idea of its original provenance.

I pretty much followed the pattern (except for continuing the ribbing up to the cast-off, instead of switching to stockinette to roll back – prefer it this way).

March 1, 2008: Where Are They Now report 

And they are perfect for typing a dissertation in an uninsulated apt. where we never set the thermostat over 65. Unlike last year’s mitts, being alpaca they will not pill. Sadly, these will probably not be used for beachwalking.

…And finally finished my own Grandma slippers:

slippers_mine.jpg

They turned out to be a little too big, though, so I’ve modified the pattern a little.

The gift slippers were well received, by the way.

All loverly.

Comments»

1. Renee - March 12, 2007

Great Gloves 🙂
I Love the colors you chose 🙂

2. Ashley - March 13, 2007

Those colors are gorgeous, and I love the way the brown tipping sets off the blues.

3. Faith - March 15, 2007

Did you dye the yarn yourself? I love the two colors together! Lovely job.

4. cari - March 17, 2007

I love the colors–good eye!

5. Waiting on Hand and Foot « merp - April 10, 2007

[…] week after I got back, I made this glove for Aaron who, after seeing my new mitts, demanded something similar for the office (always too cold, apparently). And after seeing […]

6. Can’t have too many warm hands « merp - March 1, 2008

[…] 2007 Rib and Cable Mitts (original post here). I love these! I wear them constantly. The mystery alpaca yarn has fuzzed a little, but […]


Leave a Reply

