jump to navigation

Blue things I forgot to post…. January 12, 2007

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

I’m baaack! But before I tell you where I’ve been, here’s where I was before I left:

Large blue thing: I finally finished Angelica! Wrapped it up and sent it to Seattle in early December, only 4 months late for my sister’s birthday!

angelica_tanya.jpg

This is me modeling it – it looks better on my sister, who’s quite a bit taller than me. And it really shouldn’t be worn with a green turtleneck. Can’t believe that in two weeks in Seattle, I forgot to take a picture of her in it!

The specs:
Pattern: Angelica tunic, Stephanie Japel

Yarn: Noro Cash Iroha (40% silk, 30% lamb’s wool, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon), color #61

Needles: #8 or 9 circs (very loose gauge – snags easily, unfortunately)

Button: Still need one, and forgot to pick one out while in Seattle.

Modifications: Changed the shaping a lot to fit a long waist. Also, changed the increases between the two purled bands to avoid dips in the hem I’ve seen on other people’s. And, at sister’s request (also, I like them better), changed the sleeves to 3/4, and kept them fitted, no flare.

Time, from purchase of yarn, through several purchases of the wrong yarn, through shaping & frogging & reshaping & refrogging, to mailing it in a box: c. 6 mos.

My sister loves it. I just hope she can keep her dog from jumping on it!

Here it is blocking, with its little 3-D boobs:

angelica_blocking.jpg

I have 2 skeins of the Noro Cash Iroha left over. What should I do with them? My sister doesn’t wear hats (curly hair) or fingerless mitts/gloves. The yarn is too nice to use for something that would get a lot of wear, like gloves, socks, or slippers. A scarf, I guess? But it would have to be pretty small…..

Small blue thing: During a weekend conference in early December, I made Teva Durham’s Lace Leaf Scarf, with one skein of Mondial Kross (color: ocean) – machine washable merino.

cravate_1.jpg

It’s about 5 feet long, but always shifts around when I wear it so that one end is high and the other is long. That’s kind of annoying. But it can also be worn tied like a cravate.

cravate_2.jpg

I did actually knit it a bit shorter than the pattern recommended, which turned out to be fine, as it stretches a lot. And I love it. Perfect for not-so-cold winter days in Seattle and, this year, in the Midwest. Have a skein left over of this, too. Could 87 yards of bulky yarn possibly make a hat??

Comments»

1. These boots were made for short strolls « merp - January 29, 2007

[…] 2007 Posted by merp in Life. trackback Note that I’ve added the promised pictures below in Blue Things and One Year of […]


Leave a Reply

