jump to navigation

A scarf for ME! November 3, 2006

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Finally completed!

cozy_done.jpg

Pattern: Lace is taken from “Cozy” by Danielle Schonnover, who calls it “feather pattern.” To my surprise, the scarf is both feathery (as in, I will snag it soon) and cozy (yep, even laceweight wool is wool).

Yarn: handpaintedyarn.com laceweight (one skein), color: marron, knit w/2 strands together

Needles: 2s or 3s, I forget

Gauge: Small! Took forever!

Size: About 80″ long, and 6″ wide at one end, 7″ wide at the other (I, uh, seem to have added some stitches…)

The Knitting of It: Very satisfying, if interminable. I made the shawl version last fall, only my second attempt at lace. It took me so long to get the hang of it, I vowed to make the pattern again somehow, to use that hard-won skill. Sure enough, this time it was really easy.

Place in my life: Essential! I only have 2 working scarfs right now: a very cheap rainbow-colored, machine-made alpaca scarf I bought in Peru, and a very lightweight, raw-silk, woven scarf a friend bought me in Thailand. Both are showing their age and, you know, what to wear when it’s cold and I want to look nice?

cozy_modeled.jpg

Casual elegance is what we’re going for here.

Of course, this is a fall scarf, and although it is technically fall, it’s been feeling like winter lately (22 degrees F last night!). So, next up, a wool cabled scarf. After a half-dozen other projects on the burner, that is.

Comments»

1. Necia - November 4, 2006

I love your cozy scarf. I plan on making the original version with lace weight wool doubled, but you’re right, with the weather they way it’s been lately, I may want to reconsider my yarn choice. I think I will hold out and buy some worsted weight and make it out of that.

2. Janey - November 4, 2006

I wasn’t inspired by the knitty pattern at all – I don’t wear shawls or anything that looks like them.
But your version of that pattern has made me re-think!

Your scarf is really pretty!

Janey


Leave a Reply

