jump to navigation

Merp returns! September 6, 2006

Posted by merp in Food, Knitting, Life.
trackback

Happy September!

I have neither been hiding under a rock nor swamped with work. Basically, I’ve just been without a digital camera. Aaron went on not one, but two beach vacations during the second half of August, taking the camera and leaving me with the puppy. I’ve decided to regard these trips as scouting missions in preparation for the perfect beach vacation he’s going to take me on.

He got back just in time for his birthday, for which I gave him a Kitchenaid food processor with 9-cup bowl and 4-cup mini-bowl, chrome finish, and a motor that purrs. It’s very, very exciting. Expect more food posts.

And of course I’ve been knitting. I do, at least, have a job which “requires” (allows) me to watch lots of films – and therefore knit.

A little project, for a friend’s birthday, close to finished:

penobscott

This is from the summer issue of Interweave Knits, the Penobscott scarf, easy lace. It’s in an alpaca/tencel blend.

And far more importantly, I have finally begun Angelica! Remember Angelica? This is a birthday present for my sister, whose birthday was almost 3 weeks ago. It took us* all summer to decide on a yarn. [*”us” = me]

The yarn is a beautiful, deep purple shade of Noro Cash Iroha (silk/lambswool/cashmere) on overstock sale at a beautiful price at yarn.com. This photo captures the color all right, in a shallow kind of way:

noro yarn 1

This photo captures the color not at all, but you get a hint of the texture and the sheen:

noro yarn 2

And here you can see how far I’ve gotten (i.e., not far):

angelica top

I’m back in the game! With more knitting projects started and imagined than can ever, ever be!

Also a puppy. Puppy updates coming soon.

Comments»

1. Penobscott scarf « merp - September 22, 2006

[…] My completed Penobscott scarf: […]


Leave a Reply

