jump to navigation

Summer cardigan completed! July 9, 2006

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

I actually finished this Monday or Tuesday, but here it is finally!

Full frontal:

Button detail:

Looks ok hanging open, too:

I’m reasonably satisfied with it. It’s certainly comfy and summer-appropriate. Love the color and, surprisingly, the yarn. And it’s cute enough.

But I’m worried it’s too delicate because I knit it in such a loose gauge. I’m liable to snag it, a lot, and it might stretch out. And it ended up looking a little dowdier than I’d hoped.

The particulars:
Pattern: Roughly based on Glampyre’s Minisweater/Boobholder.

Modifications: Below the high waist, decreased several stitches evenly across and then continued in Grecian plait stitch to the hips. Did a few rows of garter stitch and bound off. The sleeves are also slightly longer than in the original pattern and aren’t puffed, and I left off the pointy edging.

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft, color: bone, 1.5 skeins (so only $5-6!)

Needles: #9 circulars (#8s for the waist and ends of the sleeves)

So there it is – my first partially self-designed sweater!

Added Nov. 7, 2007: Check out “Where Are They Now? The Summer Cardigan” 

Comments»

1. v - July 11, 2006

Retro and very cute!

2. Alice Keller - July 13, 2006

THIS is dowdy?? At 62, I guess I live in retro.

3. mazhalai - July 18, 2006

really cool design- will the pattern be available anytime soon?

4. merp - July 19, 2006

Oh, there’s no need for a pattern. Just start with Glampyre’s minsweater (here: http://glampyreknits.tripod.com/glampyrephotos/id62.html), and follow the modifications above. The Grecian plait stitch is here: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring03/PATTgrecian.html. I seem to have decreased about 23 stitches (evenly dispersed) before going on to the Grecian plait section, but you could decrease less and it would be fine, maybe better. Sizing I just did by holding it up to myself and knitting till it was the right length. Very easy. Good luck!

5. Where Are They Now? The Summer Cardigan « merp - November 7, 2007

[…] to date (judging from the number of page hits, surpassed only this week by Grandma slippers): my summer cardigan from June of […]

6. Bette Prouty - November 17, 2008

Hi,
I have lost my pattern for the Martha Stewart eyelet cardigan. Can anyone help? I love it and would like to make it again.


Leave a Reply

