jump to navigation

Two New Summer Projects June 2, 2006

Posted by merp in Knitting.
trackback

…Because why start just one when you can start two!

I’ve been wanting to do both of these for a really long time, and both should be relatively quick and easy (famous last words).

First, Ribbon X-Back Tank

I’m using Moda Dea Ticker Tape yarn, a nylon ribbon yarn, bought hugely discounted at Michael’s earlier this spring. It’s not the yarn the pattern calls for, and the gauge is a little off, but the pattern is so straightforward, I’ve just done the arithmetic to make it work. It’s very soft, much softer than I expected, and very sensitive, too. My callouses and hangnails, and even my bamboo needles catch on it. So, aluminum needles and gentle knitting.

tickertape

My progress as of this week – started the second skein:

x-back1

Second, Glampyre’s Minisweater/Boobholder, only not mini. It will be short-sleeved, but with longer sleeves than in the pattern, and with no puffs or trim. Below the boobs, where the sweater ends in the pattern, I’ll keep going to about hip-length in this lacy Grecian plait stitch, which I borrowed from here.

grecianplait

I’m yarn slumming on this one, using acrylic. I’m cash-poor right now, and you know, all those sweaters my Grandma made out of acrylic kept us warm and lasted for years and years–I’m still wearing one she made for my mom over 30 years ago.

I’d heard that Caron Simply Soft is the best of the cheap acrylics, and it’s even better than I expected – very soft and silky. The color is “bone”.

I hope it will be perfect to wear over sleeveless tops in air-conditioned offices and restaurants. Here’s my progress as of today:

boobholder1

Comments»

1. delia - June 5, 2006

I like what you have planned for that minisweater. I’m anxious to see how it turns out.

2. merp - June 6, 2006

Me too! 🙂

3. Mickey - June 11, 2006

I’m trying to figure out if the minisweater/boobholder would look fab or awful on me, given that I prefer to accentuate my boobs and de-accentuate my belly, and that I’m very long-torsoed. I’m thinking awful…

4. merp - June 11, 2006

Check out on craftster. Lots of different results on lots of different body types, here and also here. Also do a general search on craftster – there are a lot more versions posted. I’m not the first to do a long version.


Leave a Reply

