jump to navigation

Cranberry pancakes & cinnamon chili February 26, 2006

Posted by merp in Food.
trackback

More good eats this weekend. Yesterday morning, I made really yummy pancakes with the rest of a bag of frozen cranberries. Then I added some craisins for good measure. And the key thing was a few drops of natural orange flavor. Oh yes–and yogurt and labna. **Anything** is better with labna! (Mediterranean yogurt the consistency of cream cheese.)

labna

And then Aaron made truly amazing chili tonight, with cinnamon stick, star anise, and a whole lime. Pinto, black and kidney beans, plus some fake sausagy meat (though he really made a case for real meat; I’m losing this contest). And I have no idea what else, but seriously awesome chili. With cornbread made with real buttermilk in a cast iron skillet.

I think we are going to be eating more meat. We have already started eating fish regularly, though still scouting out the best fish sources in town. Really not a great seafood locale. But there are several sources for local, organic, free-range, grass-fed meat: Moore family farm, Stan (a farmer friend of a friend)–both sell at the farmers market all summer, and Moore meat we can get through Fruited Plain.

And that takes care of most of my objections to eating meat. Still not great for your health, but small quantities never hurt. I’m still not crazy about meat. But again, good quality stuff in small quantities is really the way to eat it.

Comments»

1. Mickey - February 27, 2006

I still stand by my stance that bacon is a vegetable.

2. gina - February 27, 2006

I completely forgot about Labna!! I wonder where I can find it, though it should be near by as I live in the Armenian part of town…
Labna….

I should say, lamb and pork have been the ticket these last months. green chile and pork…korma and lamb….mmmmmmmmmmmmm

3. merp - February 28, 2006

Labna, yes….curd of the gods. There will be labna in heaven.

4. vanessa - March 1, 2006

On the topic of fake meat — stay away from tofurkey kielbasa.

Hm… having typed out those words, I can see where it was just a bad idea to begin with.

Welllll, I thought it would work in the cassoulet from the Moosewood cookbook, but it was just nasty and rubbery and Mom and I both ate around it. Fake meat is really just, with almost no exceptions, fake meat. If you’re gonna do it, go for the real thing.

Your chili and pancakes sound delish! I have been cooking up a storm, the great luxury of unemployment, I shall enjoy it while it lasts. Tonight, ginger-lemongrass-carrot soup and dill popovers, 2 great tastes that do NOT go together. The soup was quite good if I do say so and Mom really liked it, so I will make it again.

T, do you have that recipe for Vegetarian Pot Pie or Shepards Pie from another Moosewood book? It’s packed away somewhere in one of my boxes…

5. merp - March 1, 2006

Tofurkey kielbasa–yes, that’s where you went wrong, that’s why it didn’t have as much flavor as when I made it. The key to the cassoulet is the pepperoni. Even fake pepperoni will impart enough flavor to the whole dish.

Where was the ginger-lemongrass-carrot soup recipe from?

I’ll look for the pot/shepherd’s pie….

6. david - March 1, 2006

I recall Vegetarian Times having a nice shepherd’s pie a few years back (which I made in Cordelia).

7. merp - March 7, 2006

Thanks, David. For some reason wordpress thought you were spam and I had to release you from captivity.

(n.b.: Cordelia was our wonderful Le Creuset dutch oven at Phoenix House. Nothing kinky going on here.)


Leave a Reply

