jump to navigation

Third Wave of Holiday Gifts: The Kids! January 18, 2010

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

I am now related to several children, which I find novel and entertaining, our family having been almost 100% adult, or adult/infant, for some time.  Christmas is much more fun when it centers on the under-10 set.

And kids are awesome to knit for.

Pattern: Tiger Hat, by Mary Lou Egan (proceeds from pattern sales support Heifer International – even if tigers don’t, really – and she’s raised about $2,000 so far!)  [ravlink]

Yarn: The perfectly tigerish orange was Queensland Collection Rustic Wool, and the black was Berroco Pure Merino (both superwash, both purchased at the Hillsborough Yarn Shop)

New skillz: Stranded colorwork!  Ok, I have tried it once before, but it’s still new, and I still kind of suck at it.  Fortunately, hats are forgiving and kids don’t care!

As several knitters noted on ravelry, the instructions for the ears are very confusing.  I think I deciphered them, though, by taking some things on faith, and reading between the lines a bit.  Anyhow, cute ears, huh?

That was for Nephew T., 6 years old.  For Nephew D., 4, another cool hat:

Pattern: Brainmonster, by Cyn [ravlink]

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted, in stone blue and pearl

Needles: #7

I love this pattern! This is my second, and I’m just going to keep making them.  Here it is blocking, still peacefully kid-free:

And here it is devouring a child!

You can just barely see in this photo that I sewed on buttons for eyes instead of using googly eyes.  They had a radial flower sort of design, which I thought looked kind of monster-creepy, but in a cheerful way.

Finally, for the girl, almost 1-1/2:

Pattern: None. Basically, I had this bear on hand, and I just started knitting.

Yarns: Stashbusting.  Included bits of Knit Picks Comfy, Knit Picks Shine, and Mission Falls Cotton, all machine-washable.

Niece T. will be a Huskies fan.  At least, I don’t see how it could be otherwise.

I hope I get to make a few more outfits for this bear!   (Ok, laugh, but I actually took down her measurements before giving her to T.)

And finally, a pair of post-Christmas tigerrific socks are underway:

(Many thanks to Fernando for providing a suitable backdrop.)

Comments»

1. Christmas Gift Ideas » Blog Archive » Third Wave of Holiday Gifts: The Kids! « merp - January 19, 2010

[…] Continue here: Third Wave of Holiday Gifts: The Kids! « merp […]

2. Leah - January 19, 2010

That bear is too cute. You’re the best aunt ever, I bet. And if you wore those socks here, you’d be mistaken for a fan of this local college sports team. Geaux (yes, really) Tigers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

