jump to navigation

Post-Holiday Reveals, Second Wave January 9, 2010

Posted by merp in FOs, Knitting.
trackback

Next up…gifts given on Christmas Day (on which day, incidentally, I also flew from North Carolina to Seattle, due to awkward scheduling awkwardly delayed, yet was at my mother’s house in time for lunch) – just the ones for my mom for now.

First, a pillow:

Pattern: Improvisation!  Taking Puff Daddy as a starting point.

Size: 16″ in diameter, fits a round pillow form from Hancock Fabrics (oddly, the only chain store that carried such an item)

Yarn: Knit Picks Twirl [ravlink], in “summer sky” (discontinued).  To match the pillow I gave her summer before last.

Needles: 10.5

Buttons: Mom and I picked them out together at Village Yarn & Tea Shop in Seattle (well, Lake Forest Park)

[Project link on ravelry]

The Puff Daddy pattern is basically just a long garter-stitch rectangle, with the short sides seamed together and the long sides cinched up to form the centers of the puff on each side – but the objective there is a large footstool sort of pillow.  I realized soon that with such bulky yarn, I would end up with way too much fabric for the smallish, flat throw pillow I wanted, so devised a pattern of shortrows:

Basically:

K45 (one row)
K38 w&t
K31 w&t
K24 w&t
K17 w&t
K across all stitches
K45

Ad nauseum, and with modifications on the fly, as you are moved.

Once again, I did math!  Once I had that pattern worked out, I had to figure out how big a pillow I could make with the amount of yarn that I had.  I don’t remember precisely how I calculated it, but if your math proficiency qualifies you to enter high school (which is about all I claim), you can figure it out, too.  The real point here is: I was right! The completed pillow turned out the size I’d intended, and I had just the swatch left over.

And thanks to the Durham String Thing bunch for suggesting lacing as the solution for closing it up!

Here it is in its new home, with its sibling pillow:

I knitted Mom 2 stocking stuffers as well:

Pattern: Mug and French Press Jacket, by mk carroll [ravlink]

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash (leftover from Topaz baby dress)

Needles: #6

Buttons: Mom’s stash

[Project link on ravelry]

I love this one, and apparently, so does my mom.  Just followed the pattern, no excitement there, but I did decide to make it adjustable for differently-sized mugs by adding an extra button.

Smocking was fun.  And it wasn’t actually for the Indian pickle, but the Patak’s jar did a good job of blocking it.

Pattern: eLoomanator’s Diagonal Knit Dishcloth [ravlink]

Yarn: CORN!!  That is, Southwest Trading Company’s Amaizing.

Needles: 6ish

I made three of these: one for my mother-in-law in Singapore, one for my mother, and one for me.  Love the pattern, and the yarn was interesting – makes a fine washcloth, but I wouldn’t want to wear it.

More still to come….

Comments»

1. Mom/Alice - January 9, 2010

I’ll testify that all 3 fulfill their intended functions exceedingly well — not to mention being decorative!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

